How To Stop Your Facebook Friends From Tagging You Or Posting On Your Profile



 How To Stop Your Facebook Friends From Tagging You Or Posting On Your Profile


The rate to which i do get messages from Facebook user on how to limit friends from tagging them on their post is becoming something else. Turn your back for five seconds and your so-called friends are tagging you in dubious nightspots or posting Rick Astley music videos to your timeline.

Just pay attention let me share simple tricks on how you can take control of your Facebook account without tags on your timeline.

After all, your profile represents you to your contacts on Facebook and the wider world. You may not want it littered with posts and tags from other people, particularly if you use it in a professional capacity, so it's well worth a few minutes of your time to restrict other people's access to your wall (that's what the timeline used to be called, youngsters).

How do i do that, On the web, head to your timeline, click the More button (three horizontal dots) and choose Timeline Settings. The top option (click Edit to change it) lets you select who can post to your timeline: Your friends or just you. Choose the latter option and no one else has the chance to litter your profile page with messages, links and animated GIFs.

The setting immediately underneath lets you review tags before they appear on your Timeline. Facebook doesn't give you the option to prevent your friends from tagging you, but you can make sure these tagged posts don't appear on your timeline. They can be reviewed and either approved or dismissed from the Timeline View section of your Activity Log page (accessible through your profile).

Again, this doesn't remove the tag; it will still appear on your friend's page, in search results, in the news feed (to your mutual friends) and so on. But it does stop the post appearing on your timeline and appearing to contacts who aren't also friends with whoever's been tagging you. If you've been tagged in a picture, then this can be removed via the photo's menu options.

Further down there are other options to play around with. If you do want to allow tagged photos and posts from friends on your timeline, you can choose who gets to see them. It's also possible to review tags that your friends apply to your own posts before they're applied.

Finally, you might want to change the When you're tagged in a post... option to Only Me. If your friends insist on tagging you on a regular basis, this stops your own circle of Facebook contacts from seeing the posts (unless of course they are already friends with the person doing the tagging, as we mentioned earlier).


No comments:

Post a comment